REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. GMT

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. GMT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

THAILAND-BAHRAIN-REFUGEE/

'He is a free man': Thailand releases refugee Bahraini footballer after extradition bid dropped

BANGKOK (Reuters) - Thailand on Monday freed a jailed refugee Bahraini footballer with residency status in Australia, after Bahrain abandoned its bid to seek his extradition, and immigration officials said he was immediately driven to the airport.

SOCCER-ENGLAND-SOU-CDF/

Soccer: Warnock calls off Cardiff's Tenerife trip to mourn Sala

Cardiff City canceled the club’s trip to Tenerife for a mid-season break so the players could mourn striker Emiliano Sala’s death with their families, manager Neil Warnock has said.

SAILING-SAILGP-ROLEX/

Rolex backs Ellison's SailGP with long-term partnership

LONDON (Reuters) - Swiss watchmaker Rolex raised its aquatic profile on Monday in a long-term partnership with SailGP, a new $1 million winner-takes-all series backed by Oracle boss Larry Ellison.

UPCOMING

SOCCER

SOCCER-ENGLAND-OAT/SCHOLES (PIX)

Soccer - England - League Two - Oldham Athletic - Paul Scholes news conference

Former Manchester Unired and England midfielder Paul Scholes holds his first news conference as the new manager of Oldham Athletic.

11 Feb 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-MUN-PSG/PREVIEW (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Champions League - Manchester United training & news conference

Manchester United prepare for the first leg of their Champions League last-16 tie against Paris St Germain. Manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer talks to the press.

11 Feb 09:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-WLV-NEW/ (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Wolverhampton Wanderers v Newcastle United

11 Feb 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-AJA-MAD/

Soccer - Real Madrid experiencing youthful revolution as they visit Ajax's talent factory

Ajax have a well earned reputation for producing top talent and quickly shipping players off, while their Champions League opponents Real Madrid have recently followed a policy of spotting hopeful promises at an early age and bringing them to the club, with breakout Brazilian Vinicius Jr the latest success story.

12 Feb 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

MOTOR RACING

MOTOR-F1-WILLIAMS/ (TV)

Motor racing - Williams F1 car launch

Williams F1 present their car for the new Formula One season along with their new drivers, Robert Kubica and George Russell at the Williams Conference Centre in Grove.

11 Feb 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

MOTOR-F1-RENAULT/ (TV)

Motor racing-Renault Formula One car launch

Renault present the 2019 car that German Nico Hulkenberg and Australian Daniel Ricciardo will drive this season.

12 Feb 06:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

TENNIS

TENNIS-ROTTERDAM/ (TV)

Tennis - ATP 500 - Rotterdam Open

Action from round one of the Rotterdam Open - an ATP World Tour 500 event.

12 Feb 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

TENNIS-NEWYORK/

Tennis - ATP 250 - New York Open

The ATP hosts a World Tour 250 event in New York.

12 Feb

TENNIS-DOHA/

Tennis - WTA Premier 5 - Qatar Open

The WTA hosts a Premier 5 event in Doha, Qatar.

12 Feb

CRICKET

CRICKET-TEST-WIN-ENG/ (PIX)

Cricket - West Indies v England - Third Test

Day four as West Indies play England in the third and final test of their series in St Lucia.

12 Feb

OLYMPICS

OLYMPICS-2020/VENUES (PIX) (TV)

Olympics - Tokyo 2020 venue tour

With just over 500 days to go until the start of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, an update is delivered on some of the venues being built for the summer showpiece.

12 Feb 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

SKIING

ALPINE-WORLD/ (PIX)

FIS Alpine World Ski Championships

Are, Sweden hosts the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships. Day eight is the Alpine Team event.

12 Feb

02/11/2019 8:59

News, Photo and Web Search