REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 1400 GMT/1000 ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. GMT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

TENNIS-FRENCHOPEN-KVITOVA

Kvitova withdraws from French Open, hopeful for Wimbledon

PARIS (Reuters) - Petra Kvitova withdrew from the French Open before her first round match on Monday due to an injury to her forearm but the Czech is hopeful she will be able to compete at Wimbledon.

BOXING-DURAN-LEONARD

Boxing: Sugar Ray says boxing not dead, rival Duran not so sure

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - American boxing great Sugar Ray Leonard says that while the sport may not be the national obsession it was during his prime, it is still healthy, an assertion disputed by longtime rival-turned-friend Roberto Duran.

EU-ELECTION-FINLAND-ICE-HOCKEY

'The Groke' turns Finland's EU election night into World Cup hockey party

HELSINKI (Reuters) - It started as a typical election night. But by the time The Groke scored the goal that claimed the lead in the World Cup final, the ice hockey-mad people of Finland had pretty much forgotten about politics.

UPCOMING

SOCCER

SOCCER-GERMANY-UNB-STU/REPORT

Soccer - Germany - Bundesliga Relegation Playoff - Union Berlin v VfB Stuttgart

Union Berlin face VfB Stuttgart in the second leg of the Bundesliga Relegation playoff.

27 May 14:30 ET / 18:30 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-AVA-DRB/REPORT

Soccer - England - Championship Playoff Final - Aston Villa v Derby County

Aston Villa face Derby County in the Championship Playoff final at Wembley - the winners will gain promotion to the Premier League.

27 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-TOT-LIV/HOTELS (TV)

Soccer - Champions League - Hotel prices shock fans ahead of final

Hotel prices in Madrid go out of control as Champions League final approaches with rates going up to a 30,000 euro VIP package at a luxury hotel and Madrid residents considering renting out their homes to make extra money.

27 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPA-CHE-ARS/PREVIEW (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Europa League Final - Colour and build up from Baku

Baku gets ready to host the Europa League final between Arsenal and Chelsea. Security, stadium shots and beauty pictures of Azerbaijan.

28 May

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-TOT-LIV/PREVIEW (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Champions League Final - Liverpool media day

Liverpool hold a media day ahead of the Champions League final against Tottenham Hotspur.

28 May 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

SOCCER-UEFANATIONS-NLD-ENG/PREVIEW (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Nations League - Netherlands news conference

The Netherlands coach Ronald Koeman holds a news conference as his team ready to depart on May 31 for the Nations League finals in Portugal, where they meet England in the semi-finals in Guimaraes on June 6.

28 May 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

BOXING

BOXING-DURAN-LEONARD/ (TV)

Boxing-Roberto Duran and Sugar Ray Leonard discuss their legendary rivalry

Boxing legends Sugar Ray Leonard and Roberto Duran sit down with Reuters to discuss their legendary rivalry, which is the subject of the upcoming film "I Am Duran."

27 May 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

CRICKET

CRICKET-WORLDCUP-WIN-NZL/PREVIEW

Cricket - ICC Cricket World Cup warm-up match - West Indies v New Zealand

West Indies play New Zealand in a Cricket World Cup warm-up match in Bristol

28 May 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

CRICKET-WORLDCUP-BGD-IND/PREVIEW (PIX)

Cricket - ICC Cricket World Cup warm-up match - Bangladesh v India

Bangladesh face India in a Cricket World Cup warm-up match in Cardiff.

28 May 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

TENNIS

TENNIS-FRENCHOPEN/ (PIX) (TV)

Tennis - French Open

Action from round one of the French Open.

28 May 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

CYCLING

CYCLING-GIRO/ (TV)

Cycling - Giro d'Italia

Stage 16 of the Giro d'Italia is a 226-kilometer ride from Lovere to Ponte Di Legno.

28 May 04:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

05/27/2019 14:02

News, Photo and Web Search