REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 6:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

TENNIS-CINCINNATI/WOMEN

Venus stuns holder Bertens in Cincinnati, Serena withdraws

Former world number one Venus Williams, playing what she called “smart” tennis, beat defending champion Kiki Bertens 6-3 3-6 7-6(4) in the second round of the Cincinnati Masters on Tuesday before her sister Serena withdrew due to back problems.

ATHLETICS-KIPCHOGE/

Kipchoge likens sub-two hour marathon attempt to moon landing

LONDON (Reuters) - Kenyan world record holder Eliud Kipchoge says running a marathon in under two hours would be comparable in the annals of human achievement to standing on the moon or scaling Everest for the first time.

DOPING-WEIGHTLIFTING/

Doping: IWF provisionally suspends five Russian weightlifters

Five Russian weightlifters have been provisionally suspended for potential doping violations based on data retrieved from a Moscow laboratory, the sport’s governing body has said.

UPCOMING

SOCCER

SOCCER-SUPER-LIV-CHE/REPORT (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - UEFA Super Cup - Liverpool v Chelsea

European champions Liverpool face the Europa League champions Chelsea in the UEFA Super Cup in Istanbul.

14 Aug 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN/PREVIEW

Soccer - Spain - La Liga season preview

A preview of the La Liga season which begins on Friday with champions Barcelona visiting Athletic Bilbao.

15 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

CRICKET

CRICKET-ASHES/ (PIX)

Cricket - Ashes 2019 - Second Test - England v Australia

England play Australia in the second test at Lord's.

15 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

RUGBY

RUGBY-UNION-BLEDISLOE-NZL-AUS/

Rugby Union - Bledisloe Cup - New Zealand v Australia

New Zealand and Australia will both name their sides for the deciding Bledisloe Cup clash at Eden Park in Auckland

15 Aug 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-BLEDISLOE-NZL-AUS/

Rugby Union - Bledisloe Cup - New Zealand v Australia

An angry New Zealand side, stung by a record defeat at the hands of the Wallabies last week in Perth, will be keen to end any discussions they are a side in decline just five weeks out from the World Cup.

15 Aug 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-WORLDCUP/HUMIDITY (TV)

Rugby Union - Rugby World Cup - Humidity set to be major challenge for rugby players at World Cup

When the Rugby World Cup kicks off next month in Japan, the world's top players can expect to face challenging humid conditions.

15 Aug

RUGBY-UNION-WORLDCUP-WAL-ENG/ (PIX)

Rugby Union - Wales team announcement news conference

Wales head coach Warren Gatland announces his team to play England and then later speaks to the media ahead of their Rugby World Cup warm-up match against England.

15 Aug 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

TENNIS

TENNIS-CINCINNATI/ (TV)

Tennis - ATP 1000 - Cincinnati Masters

Action from the round of 16 at the Cincinnati Masters - an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event.

15 Aug 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

TENNIS-CINCINNATI/

Tennis - WTA Premier 5 - Cincinnati Masters

Action from the round of 16 at the Cincinnati Masters - a WTA Premier 5 tournament.

15 Aug 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

GOLF

GOLF-BMW/ (TV)

Golf - PGA Tour - BMW Championship first round

Coverage of first round of BMW Championship at Medinah Country Club as players vie to qualify for the season-ending Tour Championship.

15 Aug 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

FOOTBALL-NFL-NOTEBOOK

Field Level Media-NFL notebook

Wrapping up the day in NFL news and notes.

14 Aug 20:15 ET / 15 Aug 00:15 ET

MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL

BASEBALL-MLB-ROUNDUP

Field Level Media-MLB roundup

Capsule recaps of all games Wednesday, combined in a single story.

14 Aug

ESPORTS

ESPORTS-DOTA-TI19-SCHEDULE

Field Level Media-The International 19 Group Stage schedule revealed

The daily schedule for the group stage of The International 19 has been release.

14 Aug 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

08/14/2019 18:29

News, Photo and Web Search