REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 2 p.m. GMT/ 10 a.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 2 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

SOCCER-UEFA/FFP

UEFA Financial Fair Play rules set to change after City ban overturned

After UEFA's attempt to ban Manchester City from European football was overturned by sport's highest court on Monday, the continental governing body's Financial Fair Play (FFP) system, under which they were charged, faces likely changes.

SPORT-BRITAIN/

Sport-UK Sport denies risking athletes' health in 2012 nutritional program

UK Sport said it does not fund research projects aimed at giving athletes a performance advantage at the expense of their health, after the Mail on Sunday reported that it backed an experimental nutritional program at the 2012 London Olympics.

FOOTBALL-NFL/WASHINGTON

Washington to retire Redskins name and logo

The NFL's Washington team said on Monday they will retire their Redskins name and logo in a decision made after sponsors stepped up pressure to scrap a name long criticized as racist by Native American rights groups.

UPCOMING

SPORTS

SOCCER-SPAIN-ALV-GET/REPORT

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Alaves v Getafe

Alaves host Getafe in La Liga. Also includes coverage of Villarreal-Real Sociedad.

13 Jul 13:30 ET / 17:30 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-MUN-SOU/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Manchester United v Southampton

Manchester United host Southampton in the Premier League.

13 Jul 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY-INT-TOR/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Italy - Serie A - Inter Milan v Torino

Inter Milan host Torino in a Serie A match.

13 Jul 15:45 ET / 19:45 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-GCF-MAD/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Granada v Real Madrid

Granada face Real Madrid in La Liga.

13 Jul 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN/

Soccer-Cadiz return to La Liga after 14-year absence

Cadiz were promoted to La Liga for the first time since 2005 after Real Zaragoza were beaten 4-2 at home to Real Oviedo in Spain's second division on Sunday.

13 Jul 17:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

CRICKET-ODI-ENG-AUS/ (PIX)

POSTPONED - Cricket - Second One Day International - England v Australia

England play Australia at the Ageas Bowl in the second one day international.

14 Jul

OLYMPICS-2020/JOC (PIX) (TV)

Olympics-JOC hold news conference 10 days before Tokyo Olympics was due to start

The Japanese Olympic Committee President Yasuhiro Yamashita gives a news conference 10 days before the Tokyo Olympics were due to start before the delay caused by the coronavirus pandemic. The rearranged Games will now begin in July 2021.

14 Jul 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-ARS-LIV/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Arsenal news conference

Arsenal manager Mikel Arteta speaks to the media ahead of his team's Premier League match against Liverpool.

14 Jul 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-NEW-TOT/PREVIEW

Soccer - England - Premier League - Tottenham Hotspur news conference

Tottenham Hotspur manager Jose Mourinho holds a virtual news conference ahead of his side's Premier League match against Newcastle United.

14 Jul 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-ARS-LIV/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Liverpool news conference

Liverpool manager Juergen Klopp holds a virtual news conference ahead of his side's Premier League match away to Arsenal.

14 Jul 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-MCI-BOU/PREVIEW

Soccer - England - Premier League - Manchester City news conference

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola holds a virtual news conference ahead of his team's Premier League match against AFC Bournemouth.

14 Jul 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

SURFING-WSL/ (PIX)

Surfing-WSL updates on World Championship Tour schedule, new format

World Surf League, professional surfing's governing body, reveals a new format and schedule for its World Championship Tour for 2021 and updates on the status of the COVID-19 affected 2020 tour

14 Jul 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

07/13/2020 13:57

News, Photo and Web Search