REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 2 p.m. GMT/9 a.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 2 p.m. GMT/9 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/TENNIS-AUSOPEN

Positive COVID-19 tests linked to Australian Open downgraded to eight

MELBOURNE (Reuters) - The number of positive COVID-19 tests linked to the Australian Open has been downgraded to eight after authorities reclassified one of the results as a previous infection, health officials said on Wednesday.

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/OLYMPICS-VACCINE

Israel to vaccinate all athletes for Tokyo Games by May

(Reuters) - Israel intends to have all its athletes due to compete at the Tokyo Olympics vaccinated against COVID-19 by May, its National Olympic Committee said on Wednesday, amid global debate over whether athletes should be given priority access in the rollout.

SOCCER-ENGLAND-TOT-LIV/PREVIEW

Liverpool must be a team nobody wants to play, says Klopp

(Reuters) - Liverpool may have their backs against the wall in the Premier League but the negative coverage of the team will only spur them on to bounce back in the title race, manager Juergen Klopp said on Wednesday.

UPCOMING

SOCCER

SOCCER-ENGLAND-BUR-AVA/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Burnley v Aston Villa.

27 Jan 13:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-CHE-WLV/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Chelsea v Wolverhampton Wanderers

Chelsea play Wolverhampton Wanderers in the Premier League.

27 Jan 13:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-BRH-FUL/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Brighton & Hove Albion v Fulham.

27 Jan 14:30 ET / 19:30 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY-JUV-SPA/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Italy - Coppa Italia - Juventus v SPAL

Juventus host SPAL in the Coppa Italia quarter-final. We will wrap up the earlier game between Atalanta and Lazio.

27 Jan 14:45 ET / 19:45 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-RAY-FCB/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Spain - Copa del Rey - Rayo Vallecano v Barcelona Barcelona visit Rayo Vallecano, who play in Spain's second division, in the Copa del Rey.

27 Jan 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-EVE-LEI/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Everton v Leicester City

Everton play Leicester City in the Premier League.

27 Jan 15:15 ET / 20:15 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-MUN-SHU/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Manchester United v Sheffield United

Manchester United face Sheffield United in the Premier League.

27 Jan 15:15 ET / 20:15 GMT

SOCCER-LIBERTADORES-PAL-STS/PREVIEW (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Preview of Copa Libertadores final between Palmeiras and Santos

A preview of the final, with a focus on Patrick de Paula, the Palmeiras midfielder with links to Scottish club Celtic.

28 Jan

SOCCER-SPAIN/PREVIEW

Soccer - Spain - La Liga weekend preview

A preview of the weekend's action in La Liga.

28 Jan 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

SOCCER-ITALY/PREVIEW

Soccer - Italy - Serie A preview

Preview of the weekend's Serie A matches

28 Jan 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

BASKETBALL

BASKETBALL-NBA-CHA-IND/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Charlotte Hornets v Indiana Pacers

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Spectrum Center, Charlotte, North Carolina.

28 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-CLE-DET/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Cleveland Cavaliers v Detroit Pistons

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse, Cleveland, Ohio.

28 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-ORL-SAC/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Orlando Magic v Sacramento Kings

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Amway Center, Orlando, Florida.

28 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-ATL-BKN/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Atlanta Hawks v Brooklyn Nets

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - State Farm Arena, Atlanta, Georgia.

28 Jan 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-PHI-LAL/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Philadelphia 76ers v Los Angeles Lakers

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Wells Fargo Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

28 Jan 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-TOR-MIL/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Toronto Raptors v Milwaukee Bucks

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Amalie Arena, Tampa, Florida.

28 Jan 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-MIA-DEN/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Miami Heat v Denver Nuggets

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - AmericanAirlines Arena, Miami, Florida.

28 Jan 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-SAS-BOS/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - San Antonio Spurs v Boston Celtics

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - AT&T Center, San Antonio, Texas.

28 Jan 20:30 ET / 01:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-NOP-WAS/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - New Orleans Pelicans v Washington Wizards

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Smoothie King Center, New Orleans, Louisiana.

28 Jan 21:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-UTA-DAL/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Utah Jazz v Dallas Mavericks

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Vivint Smart Home Arena, Salt Lake City, Utah.

28 Jan 21:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-PHX-OKC/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Phoenix Suns v Oklahoma City Thunder

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - PHX Arena, Phoenix, Arizona.

28 Jan 21:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-GSW-MIN/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Golden State Warriors v Minnesota Timberwolves

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Chase Center, San Francisco, California

28 Jan 22:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NSH-CHI/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Nashville Predators v Chicago Blackhawks

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Bridgestone Arena, Nashville, Tennessee.

28 Jan 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-VAN-OTT/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Vancouver Canucks v Ottawa Senators

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Rogers Arena, Vancouver, British Columbia.

28 Jan 20:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

TENNIS

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/TENNIS-AUSOPEN (PIX) (TV)

Tennis players approach end of quarantine in Adelaide ahead of Australian Open

Tennis players approach the end of a mandated 14-day quarantine in Adelaide ahead of the Australian Open, as the coronavirus continues to complicate Tennis Australia's plans for upcoming major play.

28 Jan

OLYMPICS

OLYMPICS-2020/ATHLETES (PIX) (TV)

Olympics-Athletes speak about struggle of preparing for Games amid uncertainty, pandemic

For athletes preparing for the Tokyo 2020 Games, it is hard enough to train during a pandemic but the additional uncertainty over the Olympics has only added to their anxiety.

28 Jan 02:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

OLYMPICS-2020/TOKYO (TV)

Olympics-Tokyo 2020 officials speak to media after video call with IOC's Bach

Tokyo 2020 CEO Toshiro Muto and President Yoshiro Mori speak to the media after a video call with International Olympic Committee President Thomas Bach as the Games organizers plan for the rearranged Olympics.

28 Jan 03:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

01/27/2021 14:00

News, Photo and Web Search