REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 6:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET

Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6:30 p.m. GMT/2:30 p.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

GOLF-MASTERS-LEE/

Defending Masters champion Johnson four back of early leaders

AUGUSTA, Ga. (Reuters) - Dustin Johnson was four shots behind the early first-round Masters leaders on Thursday as the defending champion faced much fiercer conditions at Augusta National compared to the toothless layout he triumphed on five months ago.

OLYMPICS-2020-JAPAN-VACCINE/

Japan denies considering vaccine priority for Olympic athletes

TOKYO (Reuters) -Japan said on Thursday it was not currently looking to prioritize COVID-19 vaccines for Olympic athletes, dismissing a media report that sparked a social media outcry since the country’s inoculations are trailing other major economies.

TENNIS-CANADA-ALIASSIME/

Tennis-Toni Nadal returns to Tour to work with Auger-Aliassime

LONDON (Reuters) -Toni Nadal, the man who masterminded nephew Rafa’s incredible career, is returning to the Tour as part of the coaching team of Canadian youngster Felix Auger-Aliassime.

UPCOMING

BASEBALL-MLB-BAL-BOS/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Baltimore Orioles v Boston Red Sox

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Baltimore, Maryland

8 Apr 15:05 ET / 19:05 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-CHW-KC/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Chicago White Sox v Kansas City Royals

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Guaranteed Rate Field, Chicago, Illinois

8 Apr 16:10 ET / 20:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-COL-ARI/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Colorado Rockies v Arizona Diamondbacks

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Coors Field, Denver, Colorado

8 Apr 15:10 ET / 19:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-HOU-OAK/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Houston Astros v Oakland Athletics

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Minute Maid Park, Houston, Texas

9 Apr 20:10 ET / 00:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-MIN-SEA/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Minnesota Twins v Seattle Mariners

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Target Field, Minneapolis, Minnesota

8 Apr 16:10 ET / 20:10 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-STL-MIL/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - St. Louis Cardinals v Milwaukee Brewers

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - Busch Stadium, St. Louis, Missouri

8 Apr 16:15 ET / 20:15 GMT

BASEBALL-MLB-TOR-LAA/ (PIX)

Baseball - MLB - Toronto Blue Jays v Los Angeles Angels

2021 MLB Season (Regular Season) - TD Ballpark, Dunedin, Florida

8 Apr 18:37 ET / 22:37 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-DAL-MIL/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Dallas Mavericks v Milwaukee Bucks

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - American Airlines Center, Dallas, Texas

9 Apr 21:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-LAC-PHX/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Los Angeles Clippers v Phoenix Suns

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Staples Center, Los Angeles, California

9 Apr 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-MIA-LAL/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Miami Heat v Los Angeles Lakers

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - AmericanAirlines Arena, Miami, Florida

8 Apr 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-OKC-CLE/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Oklahoma City Thunder v Cleveland Cavaliers

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Chesapeake Energy Arena, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

9 Apr 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-SAC-DET/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Sacramento Kings v Detroit Pistons

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Golden 1 Center, Sacramento, California

9 Apr 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-TOR-CHI/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Toronto Raptors v Chicago Bulls

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Amalie Arena, Tampa, Florida

8 Apr 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

BASKETBALL-NBA-UTA-POR/ (PIX)

Basketball - NBA - Utah Jazz v Portland Trail Blazers

2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Vivint Smart Home Arena, Salt Lake City, Utah

9 Apr 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

CRICKET-INDIA/IPL (GRAPHIC)

Cricket-Indian Premier League Twenty20 competition

The eight-team Indian Premier League, the world's richest Twenty20 tournament, gets underway on April 9 with defending champions Mumbai Indians taking on Royal Challengers Bangalore in the opener in Chennai.

Apr 9

GOLF-MASTERS/ (PIX) (TV)

Golf - The Masters

Round two of the Masters at the Augusta National.

9 Apr 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-BUF-NJD/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Buffalo Sabres v New Jersey Devils

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - KeyBank Center, Buffalo, New York

8 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-CAR-FLA/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Carolina Hurricanes v Florida Panthers

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - PNC Arena, Raleigh, North Carolina

8 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-CBJ-TBL/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Columbus Blue Jackets v Tampa Bay Lightning

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Nationwide Arena, Columbus, Ohio

8 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-CHI-DAL/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Chicago Blackhawks v Dallas Stars

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - United Center, Chicago, Illinois

9 Apr 20:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-DET-NSH/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Detroit Red Wings v Nashville Predators

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Little Caesars Arena, Detroit, Michigan

8 Apr 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-MTL-WPG/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Montreal Canadiens v Winnipeg Jets

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Bell Centre, Montreal, Quebec

8 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NYI-PHI/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - New York Islanders v Philadelphia Flyers

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, New York

8 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NYR-PIT/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - New York Rangers v Pittsburgh Penguins

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Madison Square Garden, New York, New York

8 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-OTT-EDM/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Ottawa Senators v Edmonton Oilers

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Canadian Tire Centre, Kanata, Ontario

8 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

ICEHOCKEY-NHL-WSH-BOS/ (PIX)

Hockey - NHL - Washington Capitals v Boston Bruins

2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Capital One Arena, Washington, District of Columbia

8 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

OLYMPICS-2020/HASHIMOTO (TV)

Olympics-Tokyo 2020 president holds regular news conference

Tokyo 2020 Olympics organizing committee President Seiko Hashimoto holds a regular news conference.

9 Apr 01:30 ET / 05:30 GMT

OLYMPICS-2020/USA (TV)

Olympics - Tokyo 2020 Team USA Media Summit

The United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee holds its media summit ahead of Tokyo 2020. The three-day event will be held virtually due to COVID-19 restrictions. Around 100 athletes will be available to speak to the media.

9 Apr 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/AUSTRALIA

Rugby Union - Super Rugby AU - Round 8

Rebels v Force

9 Apr 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-CRY-CHE/PREVIEW

Soccer - England - Premier League - Chelsea news conference

Chelsea's Thomas Tuchel holds a news conference ahead of his side's Premier League match away to Crystal Palace.

9 Apr 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-LIV-AVA/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Liverpool news conference

Liverpool's Juergen Klopp speaks to the media ahead of his team's Premier League match against Aston Villa.

9 Apr 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-MCI-LEE/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Manchester City news conference

Manchester City's Pep Guardiola speaks to the media ahead of his side's Premier League match against Leeds United.

9 Apr 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-SHU-ARS/PREVIEW

Soccer - England - Premier League - Arsenal news conference

Arsenal's Mikel Arteta holds a news conference ahead of his side's Premier League match away to Sheffield United.

9 Apr 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-TOT-MUN/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Tottenham Hotspur news conference

Tottenham Hotspur's Jose Mourinho speaks to the media ahead of his side's Premier League match against Manchester United.

9 Apr 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SOCCER-ENGLAND-TOT-MUN/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - England - Premier League - Manchester United news conference

Manchester United's Ole Gunnar Solskjaer speaks to the media ahead of his team's Premier League match against Tottenham Hotspur.

9 Apr 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPA-AJA-ROM/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Europa League - Ajax Amsterdam v AS Roma

Ajax Amsterdam host AS Roma in the first leg of their Europa League quarter-final.

8 Apr 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPA-ARS-SLP/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Europa League - Arsenal v Slavia Prague

Arsenal play Slavia Prague in the first leg of their Europa League quarter-final.

8 Apr 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPA-DZA-VIL/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer - Europa League - Dinamo Zagreb v Villarreal

Dinamo Zagreb play Villarreal in the first leg of their Europa League quarter-final.

8 Apr 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPA-GCF-MUN/REPORT (PIX) (TV)

Soccer - Europa League - Granada v Manchester United

Granada play Manchester United in the first leg of their Europa League quarter-final.

8 Apr 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-MAD-FCB/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Barcelona news conference & training

Barcelona coach Ronald Koeman speaks to the media and oversees a training session as his team prepares to face Real Madrid in the second "Clasico" of the season.

9 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

SOCCER-SPAIN-MAD-FCB/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer - Spain - La Liga - Real Madrid news conference & training

Real Madrid prepare to face Barcelona in the second "Clasico" of the season.

9 Apr 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

04/08/2021 18:30

News, Photo and Web Search